Ninja Paws

My lethal weapons

My lethal weapons. 

The human says I have ‘Ninja Paws’, whatever that means. They are pretty handy, swiping things, including her head when she won’t get up in the morning, but scratching the rug, couch or doona usually gets me in trouble big time if I’m caught. With sharp claws I can skewer things, especially food, and attach myself to the human’s arm or leg.

Sometimes, I’m embarrassed if a claw gets caught in the small mat while I’m batting a ball.

Suddenly, it flips over and I’m underneath, struggling to escape. Pulling and kicking doesn’t help, but luckily, the human comes to the rescue.

Me and 'that' rug.

Me and ‘that’ rug.

It happens again in the morning when the human is in her long, fluffy gown, rushing around ignoring me. I’ll give her a swipe as she walks past, but my claw gets caught and I’m attached to her. We both tug.

‘Hang on Smudge,’ She is hopping on one leg then crouches down. ‘Stop pulling.’ My ears are flat and my tail is twitching as I swipe her with my other paw. ‘Hey, I’m trying to help,’ she yells. The human isn’t impressed. It takes ages before I’m free. ‘There,’ she says, you are unhooked.’

‘Whew!’ I stand up. That was so annoying. Maybe I should have nipped her instead. That always works. I saunter off to find something to play with.

Miaow.

Leave a Reply

