Absent

Happy that the 'Ancient One' is here with the human.

Happy that the ‘Ancient One’ is here with the human.

 

 

 

 

 

My nose twitches and I hear muffled sounds. The human is back. She appears at the front entrance with the ancient human, who is clutching her arm.

The oldie shuffles in. Her scent is similar to the human’s. The fur on top of her head is wiry, unlike the human’s glossy fur. Both have similar markings on their faces—must be from the same litter.

‘Hello, have you been a good boy?’ The oldie beams as I smooch around her wobbly legs. There is a gentleness about her. She limps, probably from a big jump.

‘Don’t knock her over Smudge,’ the human exclaims.

I follow them to where the food is kept. The human prepares some treats. Afterwards, they rest on the couch. Soon the human is raising her voice and sighing at her guest, (just like she does with me).

Months later

I don’t know what’s wrong… The human is quiet. She stares ahead and is making throaty sounds. I’ve tried getting her attention – nipping her chunky leg. Normally, she’d jump up and yell, but she barely moves. Maybe, she is sick and should go to see Dr Hindmarsh. When I go, I usually feel better.

After many moons, the human is almost back to her loud, annoying self. I’ve been plonking myself on her lap and being extra smoochie, but really, she should be fussing over me. She wears a tag around her neck that has the scent of the oldie. What happened to her?

*********

This post is dedicated to my mum.

Leave a Reply

